Nigerian Statistical Association Logo - A Galaxy of Professional Statisticians
The third edition of the Nigerian Statistical Association Competition for Undergraduate students will commence this year. The programme for the event will soon be out.

History of NSA

The Nigerian Statistical Association is a galaxy of Professional Statisticians found in 1976 as a non-profit making professional body comprising of Statisticians, Economists, Planners, Demographers, Analysts and corporate organizations interested in Statistics.

The Association engages in generating interest in Statistics, professional development, retraining of users and producers of statistics providing sound information base to enhance policy formulation and strategic planning in the national economy's public and private sector.  The Association aims to establish chapters in all the states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory and Student Chapters in all institutions of higher learning.


Presently, membership stands at about 2000.  There are three classes of membership viz, fellows, Ordinary members and students.

 It also has over twenty corporate members made up of Government Agencies and Research Institutions. Membership is open to individuals and organizations interested in statistics in the public and private sectors.

The Association wants to transit to CISON (Chartered Institute of Statisticians of Nigeria). The bill has been passed by the National Assembly waiting for endorsement by the President.


The Nigerian Statistical Association organizes conferences every year. This conference takes place around August or September taking cognizance of the Christian and Muslim Calendar, for instance; we do not fix our conferences when Muslims are doing their celebrations.  Apart from conferences, we also organize pre-conference workshop, Quarterly Planning, Research and Statistics (PRS)  workshop, Postgraduate Training and Nigerian statistics Competition for Undergraduate Students (NSACUS) every year.  The pre-conference comes before the conference.  The pre-conference is usually for two days whereas the conference is for three days.  That is why we use one week for our conferences. Since NSA started in 1976, the Association has had eleven Councils and eleven Presidents of the Association.


The first President of the NSA was Alhaji S.O. Adeyinka, a Chief Statistician and Chief Executive Officer of the Federal Office of Statistics was elected in 1976.

 The second President was Prof. Biyi Afonja, a Professor of Statistics at the University of Ibadan, who was President from 1985 to 1987. He was also elected President of the African Statistical Association at that time.


The third President was Mr. E.O. Amba, the coordinating director of the Federal Office of Statistics in Lagos.  He was President from 1987 to 1989.


The fourth President was Dr. E.O. Akinifesi, a Director of Statistics at the Central Bank of Nigeria.  He was President from 1989 to 1991.


The fifth President was Dr. F.E. Aigbovia, a Director of Statistics at Bendel State Ministry of Economic Development.  He was President from 1991 to 1993 and 1993 to 1995.


The sixth President was Mr. O.O. Ajayi, Director-General at the Federal Office of Statistics.  He was President from 1995 to 1997 and 1997 to 1999.


The seventh President was Prof. O.S. Adegboye, then the Dean of Faculty of  Science University of Ilorin.  He was President for two terms – 1999 to 2001 and 2001 to 2003.


The eighth President was Mr. C.M. Okafor, an Acting Director of Statistics at the Central Bank of Nigeria.  He was President for two terms and one extra year, 2003 to 2005 and 2005 to 2008.


The ninth President was Mr. B.O. Amobi, a Director of Statistics at the MACRO Economic Department of the National Bureau of Statistics.  He was President from 2008 to 2010 and 2010 to 2012.


The tenth President was Dr. M.M. Tumala, a Director of Statistics at the Central Bank of Nigeria.  He was President for two terms; 2012 to 2014 and 2014 to 2016.


The present and the eleventh President is Prof. S.I. Onyeagu, a Professor of Statistics from Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka.  He took over as the President of the Association after an election held on the 9th of September 2016 at the 40th Annual Conference of the Nigerian Statistical Association held at the International Conference Center Abuja from 5th to 9th of September 2016.




Related Pages
Benefits of Joining NSA
Privacy Policy Terms of Service © 2022 Nigerian Statistical Association - All Rights Reserved Developed by Masterweb Solutions